Mark van Loosdrecht 2018 Stockholm Water Prize Laureate

Professors Mark van Loosdrecht and Bruce Rittmann are named the 2018 Stockholm Water Prize Laureates for revolutionizing water and wastewater treatment. In its citation, the Stockholm Water Prize Nominating Committee recognizes Professors Rittmann and van Loosdrecht for “pioneering and leading the development of environmental biotechnology-based processes for water and wastewater treatment. They have revolutionized treatment of water for safe drinking, and refined purification of polluted water for release or reuse – all while minimizing the energy footprint”. Click here for more information about the Stockholm Water Prize and the 2018 Laureates.

On the 29th of August the award ceremony will take place during the World Water Week in Stockholm.